Klamath Falls & Lava Beds N.M.
May 28-30, 1997
Departing as usual at 8:00 a.m., we arrived at the outdoor Collier Logging Museum at 11:00. Fortunately, the weather was good, allowing us to enjoy this collection of equipment, machines, rolling stock and old structures. We lunched at the nearby Spring Creek picnic area, a delightful green oasis. On to the privately owned Favell Museum to visit a fantastic assortment of western and native art, artifacts, firearms, guns, etc. And finally to the Klamath County Museum located in a former Armory where author Carrol B. Howe, age 86, talked and guided us.
On Day No. 2 we enjoyed bird and waterfowl watching at the Lower Klamath National Wildlife Refuge. At their visitor center, naturalist Dave Menke enhanced our experience using his scope set up at a centrally located viewing platform. At the Lava Beds National Monument, we first stopped at the site of the assassination of General Canby. Then an extended time at Captain Jack’s Stronghold, where scrambling over the jumbled rocks gave us a flavor of the battlefield. The Modoc Wars of 1872-73 were a most unhappy time in frontier history. Lunch was at the Fleener Chimneys — no rattlers out on this mild day! Then a brief excursion into a cave near the Lava Beds Visitor Center. At Petroglyph Point the rock art has been vandalized and eroded. Much of the erosion occurred from sand storms which could happen after old Tulle Lake was drained and converted to farm and ranch land. Very sad indeed. Back to the Quality Inn by 4:30. A nice motel with large clean rooms, good service plus very good continental breakfasts available both mornings. At 7:30 we were privileged to tour the historic Baldwin Hotel. The 1993 earthquake resulted in only minor damage to this brick four-story structure. Beautifully furnished rooms and offices plus many fascinating articles and clothing from a bygone era. We were divided into small groups which permitted us to leisurely inspect this landmark hotel.
On Day No. 3 to Ashland via twisty, curvy Route 66, which follows the 1846 Applegate Trail. Our rest stop at Tubb Springs Wayside featured a glimpse of that trail road about 100 yards from the highway. Our driver, Lee Cayser, operated the Oregon Coachways bus very safely and efficiently over this road, which is worse than the Old McKenzie Pass route. In Ashland we visited the Pacific Northwest Museum of Natural History, and then had the opportunity to see the flood damage in the downtown area and in Lithia Park. Our sit-down lunch was served at the Wolf Creek Tavern. Great food and service, plus a tour of this historic stage stop. Patricia, our hostess, was a gem! They even held a drawing for several gifts — Pat Jeffries the big winner of a combo walking stick and whistle. We stopped at Heavenon-Earth in Azalea. See Rose Herrara for a 2 lb. giant cinnamon roll. Then, of course, the obligatory ice cream at Quickies at Rice Hill. The old 5¢ cone is now $1.50.
A special thanks to Ewart Baldwin whose expertise on geology and general information about the areas visited added much to our understanding and enjoyment. And recognition to Rosella Jones who handled the sign-up and provided cookies at the first rest stop in Oakridge. We returned to Eugene at 5:00 on Friday afternoon.
The 30 riders, including 5 non-members, were: Ethel Allen, Margaret Baldwin, John & Marian Borchardt, Ingrid Carmichael, Clair Cooley, Bill Eaton, Elizabeth Fox, Bette Hack, Betty Haralson, Dora Harris, Evelyn Hile, Barbara & Kess Hottle, Pat & Ben Jeffries, Jean & Ray Jensen, Rosella Jones, Dorothy Mane, Dody Leppmann, Marie Loome, Lenore & John McManigal, AI Thiesen, John Thomson, Louise Thurber, Caroline & Christoff Wegelin and Ray Jensen and Ewart Baldwin, trip leaders.